A – J

Amarsanaa Darisuren

Amarsanaa Darisuren is a researcher and a founder of the Centre for Human Rights and Development (CHRD), Mongolia. She has been working with UNIFEM as a Human Rights Specialist or CEDAW Southeast Asia Programme (SEAP). She was also a Programme Officer for Asia Pacific Forum on Women Law and Development (APWLD), Thailand. For further information, click here.

Aurora Javate-De Dios

Dr. Aurora Javate-De Dios is a former CEDAW Committee member/expert and Rapporteur. She is currently the Executive Director of Women and Gender Institute (WAGI) of Miriam College, the Philippines, the Gender Advisor of the National Commission on the Role of Filipino Women (NCRFW), and the President of Board of Trustees of the Coalition Against Trafficking in Women – Asia-Pacific (CATWAP). For further information, click here.

Christine Mary Forster

Christine Mary Forster is Senior Lecturer in the Law Faculty at University of New South Wales, Australia and at the ILS Law College in Pune, India where she teaches Feminist Legal Theory. She authored and co-authored with Vedna Rajni Jivan a number of publications on the topic including ‘Gender Equality Laws: Global Good Practice and a Review of Five Southeast Asian Countries’ (2009) and ‘Translating CEDAW into Law: CEDAW Legislative Compliance in Nine Pacific Island Countries’ (2007) in collaboration with UNDP and UNIFEM. For further information, click here.

Deepika Udagama

Deepika Udagama is currently the chairperson of National Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka. She has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the UN Voluntary Fund for Technical Cooperation in the Field of Human in Rights and UN Co-Special Rapporteur on the theme “Globalisation and its Impact on Human Rights”. She founded the Centre for the Study of Human Rights of the University of Colombo and served as its Director for six years from its inception. She serves on the governing bodies of several organisations including the CMI Rights Movement of Sri Lanka and the International Centre for Ethnic Studies.

Eleanor Conda

Eleanor Conda was deeply involved in the 1995 Fourth World Conference on Women, the 2000 Beijing +5 Review, some sessions of the UN Commission on Women, and the UN Open-ended Working Group that negotiated the Optional Protocol to the CEDAW (1996-1999) as the NGO member on the Philippine Government delegation. She is a co-founder and the first Executive Director of the Philippine-based Women’s Legal Bureau, Inc., former co-director of the Women’s Caucus for Gender Justice and the former director of the Asian Centre for Women’s Human Rights (ASCENT), sub-regional coordinator of the International Women’s Rights Action Watch-Asia Pacific working on CEDAW.

Dr. Ferdous Ara Begum

Ferdous Ara Begum is a CEDAW Committee Member. She is also a former member of the Board of Directors, Grameen Bank, 2002-2007, and served UNFPA as an Expert Consultant on Gender issues in 2005-2006,  held office of Additional Secretary to the Ministry of Establishment and a number of other senior positions. Her professional and publication work have been dedicated to women’s empowerment in relation to microcredit, violence against women, HIV/AIDS, trafficking, migration issues amongst others. For further information, please click here.

M.P. Geeta Devi

M.P. Geeta Devi is a core group member in the Asia Pacific project on ‘Monitoring the fulfilment of State Obligation on CEDAW’; member of National Alliance of Women (NAWO), New Delhi; resource person of IWRAW-AP. She has practicing law as an advocate in Family Courts, Karnataka High Court and Supreme Court taking up cases on behalf of distressed women.

Heisoo Shin

Heisoo Shin is currently representative of the National Movement for Eradication of Sex Trafficking and is an adjunct professor at the Graduate School of International Studies at Ewha Woman’s University. She has served as a member and Vice-Chair of the UN CEDAW Committee;  member of the Advisory Committee to the UN Secretary General’s In-depth Study on All Forms of Violence against Women;  the Commissioner of the National Human Rights Commission of the Republic of Korea;and member of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights for a four-year terms beginning 1st January 2011. For further information, please click here.

Indira Jaising

Indira Jaising is currently the Director of the Lawyers Collective Women’s Rights Initiative (LCWRI), an organisation of lawyers and law students. She is the first CEDAW Committee Member, the first woman to reach the post of Additional Solicitor General of India and the first woman to be designated as a Senior Advocate by High Court of Bombay in 1986. She was also a fellow at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies London and has been a visiting Scholar at the Columbia University New York.

UN Women